Thanks for visiting!

This project is now in update mode. Check back regularly to see how things are progressing.

Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics

Raised toward our $5,000 Goal
21 Donors
Project has ended
Project ended on January 11, at 09:00 PM CST
Project Owners

Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics

Support undergraduate women in physics and astronomy!


Iowa State University is excited to sponsor the Midwest APS Undergraduate Women in Physics Conference in January 2018.  Over 180 women from throughout the Midwest will converge in Ames to network with peers and established scientists, build their job and leadership skills, present their own research and learn what it takes to succeed directly from women who have already established themselves in physics and related fields.

While we already have support from a variety of sources, fund-raising efforts are crucial to make it possible for all interested women to attend.  To ensure access, we cover all expenses for the participants, including housing, meals and registration, which carries a pretty substantial cost.  Your donation will go a long way to support the crucial goal of bridging the existing gap in participation of women in Physics and STEM.   Any amount will help!

For more information on the conference, please see the conference webpage:

(Photo from last year's midwestern CUWiP at University of Wisconsin, Madison)

The conference will take place over Martin Luther King weekend, from January 12th to 14th in the Scheman building (above). Participants will

  • Hear plenary talks by women leaders in their fields.

  • Learn skills to prepare for the job market, apply for summer internship and research positions, graduate studies, and build leadership skills.

  • Present their research in a poster session.

  • Network with their peers, graduate students and professional women in physics, astronomy and related careers.

  • Tour local labs



Choose a giving level


Vera Rubin

Vera Rubin studied galaxy rotation rates, leading to the discovery of dark matter. You will cover one student's lunch.


Lise Meitner

Lise Meitner discovered nuclear fission. You will cover two students' lunches.


Rosalind Franklin

Rosalind Franklin's x-ray diffraction experiments revealed the double-helix structure of DNA. You will pay for one student's banquet dinner!


Mildred Dresselhaus

Millie Dresselhaus, the "queen of carbon," studied structures from graphite to carbon nanotubes. Your donation will cover all of a student's meals!


Emmy Noether

Emmy Noether developed many aspects of abstract algebra, and used these to explain the connection between symmetries and conservation laws. Your donation will cover a student's lodging!


Maria Goeppert-Mayer

Maria Goeppert-Mayer proposed the nuclear shell model of atomic nuclei, and won the Nobel Prize in 1963. Your donation will allow one more student to attend the conference!


Marie Curie

Marie Curie developed the theory of radioactivity. She is the first woman to win the Nobel Prize in Physics (1901), as well as the first to win the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1911), and the only person to ever win two Nobel Prizes in the sciences. Your donation will allow two more students to attend the conference!

Our Crowdfunding Groups